Edge Hill Prize Longlisting

In March 2017 I was excited to hear that my short story collection, ‘Sandlands’, is on the longlist for the Edge Hill Prize 2017.

The Edge Hill Prize is the main national prize awarded annually for single-authored collections of short stories. It is a huge honour to find myself in such awe-inspiring company: the list includes such distinguished names as Penelope Lively, David Lodge, Philip Hensher, Mark Haddon, Helen Oyeyemi and Susan Hill.

Previous winners of the £10,000 prize have been Colm Tóibín, Claire Keegan, Chris Beckett, Jeremy Dyson, Graham Mort, Sarah Hall, John Burnside, Kirsty Gunn, and Jessie Greengrass.